自然 + 技术

生物融合是医疗保健的未来趋势

Bioconvergence

The global healthcare revolution shaping the future of medicine.

我们已经迈入了后基因组时代,而在这个时代,数据和分子工程学领域的发展以及一些新框架为我们带来了无限可能。研究人员、工程师和生物技术公司正在超越“仿生”范式。生物学、工程学、纳米技术和 IT 之间的界线变得越来越模糊。我们在其中看到的不只是逐步迭代。

这是一场革命,也是多个领域的广泛融合,即:生物融合。

下一代医疗保健解决方案不仅仅会考虑仿生,还会积极地整合生物系统和过程,带给我们数年之前还无法想象的可能。不过,这种范式转变是什么?生物融合到底是什么?它对于医疗保健的未来意味着什么?

技术 + 自然:

推动融合

纵观现代医学发展史,会发现在大部分阶段,技术与生物学之间都有着复杂的关系。笛卡尔主义的早期实践者强调人体与复杂机械系统之间的相似之处。其他思路则采用了更加全面的观点。

无论如何,在过去的两个世纪,关键的医学创新都离不开技术与生物学的共同作用。青霉素其实仅仅就是窗台上的培养皿里出现的一种霉菌,仅仅是生物学领域的一个意外而已。

但是由于 20 世纪的技术革新,才使得生产抗生素、对抗传染病成为可能。

再到最近一二十年,IT 开始在医疗领域发挥更大的作用。2004 年首次完成人类基因图谱,而且研究人员得出一个意义深远的结论:人体并非一台机器那么简单。人类以及构成人体的复杂生物系统是超过 40 亿年演变的产物,而这种演化过程中不断迭代、改进和完善的规模是我们难以想象的。

当然也不仅仅是人类。整个世界都是由生物系统构成的,而这些生物系统远远超出了人类在工程学方面的最新研究深度,比如蜘蛛丝的抗张强度是钢的数倍、可以从抗辐射植物中提取纳米级细丝、眼睛的分辨率高于大多数相机等等。

这对医疗保健行业意味着什么?研究人员已经认识到人类所面临的挑战不仅仅是由于生物学造成的。将生物学与技术融为一体,才能提供真正的解决方案。于是,分子工程师、医学科学家和生物学家走到了一起,也由此诞生了新的范式:生物融合。

什么是生物融合?

生物融合是生命科学领域医疗保健和研究方面的一个行业细分领域,它强调工程/技术与计算机系统之间的协同作用。生物融合基于这么一种理解,即生物技术的两个支柱(生物学和技术)并不像表面看来那样难以调和。

生物融合并不仅限于生物技术链中的特定阶段。这是一种可以端到端应用的方法。从组学和生物打印到仿生学,再到诊断学,许多新兴的生物技术领域都是以生物融合范例为基础的。

毕竟,生物学本质上也只是经过数十亿年改进和完善的工程学而已。

个性化:

医疗保健领域的新前沿

在过去的一个世纪里,我们在应对传染病方面取得了长足的进步,例如天花、流感、小儿麻痹症等,还包括现在的 Covid19。在过去的三十年里,我们在艾滋病毒/艾滋病疗法方面的进步挽救了数百万人的生命,抗逆转录病毒疗法能够让艾滋患者生存得更长久。

尽管已经进行了大量投资和研究投入,但我们在应对癌症、心脏病和慢性器官衰竭等慢性疾病方面的进展甚微。造成这种差异背后的原因是什么?答案就是个人因素。就慢性病而言,任何两名患者的经历都是不同的。患者的疾病原因不同,合并症也可能不同,而且由于常规治疗方案成本和需求方面的原因,患者获得护理的机会也会有所不同。

在过去的几十年里,化学疗法等常规治疗方法挽救了无数生命,而且还在不断的改进和完善,治疗效果也正在逐步改善。不过,我们还有很多事情可以做。

举例来说,生物融合在对抗癌症方面有着具有巨大的潜力,可以帮助医生通过基于组学的肿瘤特征分析、微型化给药和组织置换来定制治疗方案。

基于组学的分析可以帮助医生识别肿瘤中的特定突变和生物标志物,进而缩小有效治疗方案的范围。微型化给药可将药物输送到特定的癌症影响区域,而不会损坏周围的组织。生物融合也将会让肿瘤成功切除后进行完整的组织置换成为可能。

尽管生物融合这种概念早已出现,但是由于其成本高昂、周转周期较长,导致基于生物融合的治疗方法并未受到市场的青睐,直到最近这一状况才有所改变。

现在,下一代 DNA 测序等相关技术的发展有助于降低基于生物融合的治疗方法的成本并缩短其周转周期。测序可以帮助医生确定潜在的遗传风险因素。还有助于研究人员快速识别不同类型的癌症和病原体。

快速基因组测序技术是我们能够在如此短的时间内快速开发出多种 COVID-19 疫苗的原因之一。

生物融合产业

确保灵活性、实现快速迭代并节省成本

对于生物技术、生命科学乃至机器人技术等相关行业而言,生物融合意味着迈出了重要一步。生物融合正在推动着研发基础设施的转型,而正是这些基础设施推动了医疗保健领域在近十年的创新。

在行业层面上,生物融合解决了每个生物技术公司都面临的一个基本问题:

弥合分子工程专业知识与生物学之间的鸿沟。

这对采购和预算分配产生了实际影响。负责实际操作实验室技术(及故障排除)的工程师的期望和需求与研究团队完全不同。CELLINK 将生物融合视为当前的第一要务,旨在弥合这一差距,实现灵活性并提升效率。

通过听取工程师和研究人员的意见,我们已经能够在 BIO X 3D 生物打印机等产品中实现一流的功能。从多打印头配备到十倍分辨率提升,再到细粒度温度控制,BIO X 的设计目标是解决限制上一代生物打印机性能的诸多问题。

结论

从建筑到乐器,再到医疗方案,人类大部分的历史都是在模仿自然。不过,在当今数据驱动型世界中,出现了一种新的可能性:在能够融会贯通的情况下为何还要模仿?

生物融合是医疗保健的未来发展趋势,代表着实现针对性个性化治疗、治愈疾病的希望,也有助于在全球范围内提供更好、更易获得的医疗保健服务。作为一家领先的生物融合公司,CELLINK 正在将生物学研究与工程学专业知识相结合,也认识到了它们代表着同一枚硬币的两个方面,不断推动着该行业向前发展并创造更好的医学未来。

时刻关注我们!

了解最新消息和科学突破。

进一步了解我们的创新技术

生物制造

生物工艺

分子生物学与组学

药物发现与开发

Nature + Technology

Bioconvergence is the Future of Healthcare

Nature + Technology

Bioconvergence is the Future of Healthcare

We live in a post-genomic era, where data, molecular engineering, and new frameworks redefine possibilities. Researchers, engineers, and biotech firms are moving beyond the “nature-inspired” paradigm. The lines between biology, engineering, nanotech, and IT are becoming increasingly blurred. What we’re seeing here isn’t just gradual iteration. It’s a revolution, a mass convergence of multiple different fields: Bioconvergence.

Original source of graph – Figure 6.3 on Israel Innovation Authority’s webpage https://innovationisrael.org.il/en/reportchapter/bio-convergence

Next generation of healthcare solutions aren’t just inspired by nature. They actively incorporate biological systems and processes, unlocking possibilities that were unthinkable just a few years ago. But what is this paradigm shift? What exactly is bioconvergence? And what does it mean for the future of healthcare?

Technology + Nature:

Enabling Convergence

Through most of the history of modern medicine, technology and biology have had a complex relationship. Early Decartesian practitioners emphasised the similarities between the human body and complex mechanical systems. Other strands of thought adopted more holistic perspectives.

Regardless, key medical innovations over the past two centuries relied on technology and biology working hand in hand. The discovery of penicillin—little more than mould on a windowsill— was a fluke of biology. But the manufacturing of antibiotics and the fight against communicable diseases was possible because of 20th century technological innovations.

More recently. IT has begun to play a greater role in the medical field. The human genome was mapped for the first time in 2004 and researchers came to a profound conclusion: the body was so much more than a machine. Humans, and the intricate biological systems we’re made out of, are the products of over four billion years of evolution: of iteration, improvement, and refinement on a scale we can hardly conceive of.

And it’s not just us. The entire world is made up of biological systems that exceed our best attempts at engineering: spider silk with multiple times the tensile strength of steel, radiation-resistant plant nanofilaments, and eyes with greater resolving power than most cameras.

What does this mean for the healthcare industry? Researchers recognized that biology wasn’t just a source of challenges. Wedded to technology, it offered real solutions. Molecular engineers, medical scientists, and biologists came together and a new paradigm was born: Bioconvergence.

What is bioconvergence?

Bioconvergence is an industry segment within healthcare and research in life science that emphasizes the synergy between engineering/technology and computerized systems. Bioconvergence is based on the understanding that biology and tech, the two pillars of biotechnology, aren’t as hard to reconcile as they appear.

Bioconvergence isn’t limited to particular stages in the biotech chain. It’s an approach that can be applied end-to-end. Many emerging areas in biotech, from omics and bioprinting to biomimicry to diagnostics, are rooted in the bioconvergence paradigm.

After all, biology is really just engineering that’s been refined over billions of years.

Personalization: The new frontier in healthcare

Over the past century, we’ve made immense strides in tackling infectious diseases like smallpox, influenza, polio, and now lately, Covid19. Over the past 30 years, advancements in HIV/AIDS therapy have saved millions of people, with retroviral treatments allowing people to live out full lives.

However, despite massive investment and research effort, less progress has been made to tackle chronic illnesses like cancer, heart disease, and chronic organ failure. What’s behind this discrepancy? Individual factors. When it comes to chronic disease, no two people have the same experience. The causes are different, comorbidities can differ, and access to care can vary because of the cost and demand to convention treatment regimens.

Conventional treatments like chemotherapy have saved countless lives over the past decades, and iterative improvements and refinements have enabled progressively better outcomes. However, there is more that could be done.

In the fight against cancer, for instance, bioconvergence has immense potential to help doctors customize treatment through omics-based tumor profiling, miniaturized drug delivery, and tissue replacement.

Omics-based profiling helps doctors identify specific mutations and biomarkers in a tumor, letting them narrow down effective treatment options. Miniaturized drug delivery delivers medication to specific cancer-affected areas, without damaging the surrounding tissue. And once the tumor has been successfully removed, bioconvergence makes complete tissue replacement a reality.

Although bioconvergence as a school of thought has been around for quite a while, high costs and turnaround time have limited the success of bioconvergence-based treatments in the market, until recently.

Related developments like next-generation DNA sequencing now help to bring down cost and turnaround time on bioconvergence-based treatment approaches. Sequencing helps doctors identify underlying genetic risk factors. It also allows researchers to rapidly identify different types of cancers and pathogens.

Rapid genome sequencing is one of the reasons that multiple COVID-19 vaccines were developed so quickly.

Rapid genome sequencing is one of the reasons that multiple COVID-19 vaccines were developed so quickly.

Bioconvergence as an industry

Enabling flexibility, rapid iteration, and cost savings

Bioconvergence is a major step forward for allied industries like biotech, life sciences, and even robotics. It is transforming the research and development infrastructure that’s responsible for many of this decade’s healthcare innovations.

At an industry level, bioconvergence solves a fundamental problem every biotech firm faces: Bridging the gap between molecular engineering expertise and biology.

This has a real impact on procurement and budget allocation. Engineers who actually operate (and troubleshoot!) laboratory technologies have an entirely different set of expectations and needs compared to research teams. At CELLINK, we’ve made bioconvergence a priority in order to bridge this gap, enabling flexibility and greater efficiency.

By listening to both engineers and researchers, we’ve been able to implement class-leading features in products like our BIO X 3D bioprinter. From multiple print-heads, to a ten times higher resolution, to fine-grained temperature control, BIO X was engineered to solve the problems that limited last-gen bioprinters.

Conclusion

We’ve spent most of human history imitating nature, from architecture to musical instruments, to medical treatment regimens. In today’s data-driven world, though, a new possibility has emerged: why imitate when you can integrate?

Bioconvergence is the future of healthcare, a future that promises targeted, personalized treatment, cures for illnesses, and hope for better, more accessible care worldwide. By integrating biology research with engineering expertise, by recognizing that these are two sides to the same coin, CELLINK, as the leading bioconvergence company, is pushing the industry forward and helping create the future of medicine.

Stay updated!

Latest news and scientific breakthroughs.

Learn more about our innovative technologies

Biofabrication

Bioprocessing

Molecular biology & omics

Drug discovery & development