生物墨水开发

开发下一代生物材料

Bioink Development

Develop and characterize the next generation biomaterials

简介

生物墨水是可供生物打印机使用,以生成 3D 组织结构物的材料。生物墨水是指含有生物相容性成分且具有良好的流变特性的任何天然或合成聚合物。生物墨水的这些特性能够暂时或永久地支撑细胞活力,促进细胞在成熟过程中的黏附、增殖和分化。

CELLINK 可提供一系列采用优化配方的生物墨水,确保生物打印之前、期间和之后的细胞活力。

支持细胞活力和增值

在打印过程中和完成打印后,生物墨水中所混合的细胞必须保持活力,这一点非常关键。理想的生物墨水要能够为细胞提供结合位点,同时促使细胞自身细胞外基质 (ECM) 的生成,并最终促进生成功能性组织。

粘弹性微调

除了要确保出色的生物活性之外,生物墨水开发的第二个最重要方面是适印性能,即确保墨水可以通过打印喷嘴或针头挤压成细丝,同时维持以 3D 形式打印细胞的形状保真度和分层沉积。理想的流变性质取决于生成 3D 结构物所用的方法。举例来说,挤压式生物打印需要更多凝胶状的生物墨水,而液滴式生物打印则需要更多液体状的生物墨水来实现。流变性质的表征通常使用控温流变仪进行。最终,需要使用 3D 生物打印机(例如 BIO XBIO X6)来测试新配方。

交联的重要性

交联过程的作用是将黏度较高的可打印材料转变为更具弹性的材料,使其能够提供并维持结构刚度。交联通常通过自组装、热凝胶化、紫外光诱导或添加离子溶液等方式来实现。我们的 BIO X 等生物打印机配备了各种不同的模块,能够以快速、可控的方式促进交联。

相关刊物

Optimization of cell-laden bioinks for 3D bioprinting and efficient infection with influenza A virus

作者:Berg, J., Hiller, T., Kissner, M. S., Qazi, T. H., Duda, G. N., Hocke, A. C., … & Kurreck, J. (2018).

Technische Universität Berlin

Characterization and printability of Sodium alginate -Gelatin hydrogel for bioprinting NSCLC co-culture

作者:Arindam Mondal, Aragaw Gebeyehu, Mariza Miranda, Divya Bahadur, Nilkumar Patel, Subhramanian Ramakrishnan, Arun K. Rishi & Mandip Singh

佛罗里达农工大学

Polypeptide templating for designer hierarchical materials

作者:Hui Sun & Benedetto Marelli

麻省理工学院

相关产品

campaign-BIO-X

BIO X™

采用开放式系统,配备智能可互换打印头,堪称目前最具人性化的生物打印机。可以帮助您开发复杂的组织结构物,检测新药化合物,并简化各个应用领域的工作流程。

store-inkredible-plus.jpg

INKREDIBLE+

带有双打印头和紫外 LED 固化系统的气动挤压式生物打印机。该款产品极具成本效益,是面向创新者推出的一款入门级 3D 生物打印机,只需一些简单操作便可打印出活组织。

cellink_BioX6_front_no_bg_fixed

BIO X6™

BIO X6 是一款市面上仅有的真正意义上的台式生物打印机。该产品配备 6 个打印头,采用我们已获专利的 Clean Chamber 技术,外型小巧,仅占地 78.1 厘米,大大节省了实验室的空间。

Support series

支持系列产品

我们的支持系列产品包括旨在为结构物提供支持的生物墨水和演示用生物墨水。这些生物墨水中添加了增稠剂、牺牲材料和明亮色彩,可以让您更轻松地打印出定制化的结构物和教育用具。

Bioink Development

Developing next generation biomaterials

Bioink Development

Develop and characterize the next generation biomaterials

Introduction

Bioinks are materials used to generate 3D tissue constructs using bioprinters. A bioink can be any natural or synthetic polymer selected for its biocompatible components and favorable rheological properties. These characteristics temporarily or permanently support living cells to facilitate their adhesion, proliferation and differentiation during maturation.

CELLINK offers a wide range of bioinks with optimized formulations that ensure the viability of cells before, during and after the bioprinting process.

Supporting viability and proliferation

It is critical that the cells remain viable when blended within the bioinks during and after the printing process. An ideal bioink provides binding sites for cells while promoting their own extracellular matrix (ECM) production and ultimately help in generation of a functional tissue.

FINE-TUNING THE VISCOELASTIC PROPERTIES

Besides excellent bioactive properties, the second most important aspect in bioink development is printability to ensure that the ink can be extruded through a printing nozzle or needle into filaments while maintaining the shape fidelity and hierarchical deposit of the printed cells in 3D. Ideal rheological properties depend on the method used for generating 3D constructs. For example, extrusion-based bioprinting requires more gel-like bioink whereas droplet-based bioprinting can be achieved with more liquid-like bioinks. Characterization of the rheological properties is typically performed using a temperature-controlled rheometer. Eventually, new formulations need to be tested using a 3D bioprinter such as the BIO X or BIO X6.

The importance of crosslinking

The process of crosslinking results in a shift from a rather viscous printable material to a more elastic material that provides and maintains structural rigidity. Crosslinking is commonly done by self-assembly, thermal gelation, UV light induction or by adding an ionic solution. Our bioprinters such as the BIO X come with a variety of different modules to facilitate crosslinking in a rapid and controlled manner.

Related publications

Optimization of cell-laden bioinks for 3D bioprinting and efficient infection with influenza A virus

Author(s): Berg, J., Hiller, T., Kissner, M. S., Qazi, T. H., Duda, G. N., Hocke, A. C., … & Kurreck, J. (2018).

Technische Universität Berlin

Characterization and printability of Sodium alginate -Gelatin hydrogel for bioprinting NSCLC co-culture

Author(s): Arindam Mondal, Aragaw Gebeyehu, Mariza Miranda, Divya Bahadur, Nilkumar Patel, Subhramanian Ramakrishnan, Arun K. Rishi & Mandip Singh

Florida A&M University

Polypeptide templating for designer hierarchical materials

Author(s): Hui Sun & Benedetto Marelli

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Related products

campaign-BIO-X

BIO X™

The most user-friendly bioprinter in the world thanks to its open system, intelligent and interchangeable printheads. Assists in developing complex tissue constructs, testing new drug compounds and streamline workflows in a range of application areas.

store-inkredible-plus.jpg

INKREDIBLE+

A pneumatic-based extrusion bioprinter with dual printheads and a UV LED curing system. It’s a cost-effective unit that enables innovators to enter the 3D bioprinting field and print living tissues at ease.

cellink_BioX6_front_no_bg_fixed

BIO X6™

The BIO X6 is the only true benchtop bioprinter to combine six printheads with our patented Clean Chamber Technology in a compact package, taking up a 78.1-cm footprint in your lab.

Support series

SUPPORT series

Our SUPPORT Series includes bioinks designed to support constructs and demonstrations. These bioinks incorporate thickeners, sacrificial materials and bright colors to make tailored architectures and educational projects easier than ever.